Rogue Oregon Single Malt Whiskey

003There is a new trend in the way whiskey is aged, it’s called ocean aging. Ocean aging is when the whiskey is placed in oak barrels and those oak barrels are placed on large ships where they will age for a period of just a few months up to a few years. The idea behind ocean aging is that the salt air, oceanic pressure, extreme heat, and rolling movement of the waves will age the whiskey much faster than it would if it were aged on land.

I recently picked up a bottle of Rogue Oregon Single Malt Whiskey, which happens to have been ocean aged for three months. This was my first experience with an ocean aged whiskey. This whiskey has a surprisingly dark color for being aged for only 3 months. It has kind of a hazy appearance to it. The nose has a strong aroma of cinnamon with a salty ocean smell to it also. The salty ocean smell kind of scared me to be honest. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I tasted it. The flavor is similar to the aroma, with a hint of sweet cinnamon combined with a salty ocean taste. This whiskey also has the flavor of a scotch whiskey with a mild smoky taste, which comes from twelve percent of the malt used in this whiskey being hand-smoked using Alder and Maple chips.

Overall, Rogue Oregon Single Malt Whiskey was an interesting drink but the salty ocean aroma and flavor are not what I’m looking for in my whiskey. The ocean aging concept is an interesting idea, but the end result is not very appealing, to me anyways. I’ve read some reviews on another brand of whiskey that was ocean aged for three and a half years and the reviews were all positive and didn’t mention the salty brine tasted that I noticed in the Rogue Oregon Single Malt Whiskey. It seems that aging it longer, even on the ocean, reduces the salty taste and imparts plenty of the flavors from the oak. I probably won’t buy this one again, especially considering it was $45. If you have ever tried Rogue Oregon Single Malt Whiskey or any other ocean aged whiskey, leave me a comment and let me know what you thought.

Photo Credit

4 thoughts on “Rogue Oregon Single Malt Whiskey

  1. You mentioned that you read reviews on another ocean aged whiskey. What is it? I actually liked the Rogue whiskey, but if there is something better out there that is made the same way I definitely want to try it.

  2. I picked up a bottle of the Rogue Single Malt last year, and the Dead Guy Whiskey this year. Both are ocean aged, and I found that I like the Dead Guy just a bit better. I did note the salt aroma and the taste of sweet cinnamon in the Single Malt, but the Dead Guy brings a greater depth of character to the party. The additional malts seem to add notes of toffee and tobacco and it plays well with the Dead Guy Ale, sporting flavors that are cousins of each other.

    The Jefferson’s Ocean is one of the more notable brands doing ocean aging, and I had it at a tasting recently. It was good. Very good for being just 4 years aged, but I’d rather stick with favorites like Eagle Rare which is aged longer and costs less.

  3. Recommended to me over the Dead Guy whiskey. I did catch some presence of cinnamon and maybe a hint of a salty aroma. The maple shines like a star in the beginning making it a little sweet yet moderately smooth. The mid palate is still surprisingly timid with a little oak surfacing. The finish was similar to your typical call to intermediate whiskey, though I must say it’s not too overbearing. I would prefer to sip this neat or maybe with a cube but it’s not so exclusive that I wouldn’t shoot it if someone would suggest it. 45$ a bottle? I’m on the fence. It’s consistent though. So I’d probably break it out for guests who come over often, as opposed to childhood friends I haven’t seen in a while. My thoughts. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

